Former Members

If your information is out of date, or you are missing from the list, please contact Professor Harned to let him know – keep in touch!

Graduate Students

  • Nick Moon (Ph.D. 2015) – Postdoc: Tim Long group, Virginia Tech, Department of Chemistry; Current location: Milliken & Company, Spartanburg, SC
  • Erik Goebel (Ph.D. 2014) – Current location: Textile Based Delivery
  • Karen Beckman (Ph.D. 2014) – Current location: Associate Attorney at Merchant & Gould P.C., Minneapolis, MN
  • Kyle Kalstabakken (Ph.D. 2014) – Current location: 3M
  • Kelly Volp (Ph.D. 2014) – Current location: 3M
  • Pat Lang (M.S. 2009)
  • Diane Quern (M.S. 2010)
  • Alison Thorsness (M.S. 2010)


  • Dr. Laxmidhar Rout – Current location: Assistant Professor, Berhampur University, Odisha, India
  • Dr. Rodolfo Tello-Aburto – Current location: Assistant Professor, New Mexico Tech, Department of Chemistry


  • Savannah Henneke
  • Lydia McKay – Current location: University of Utah, School of Pharmacy
  • Bailey Brooks – Current location: University of Houston
  • Annie Zhang (2015 Welch Scholar from A&M Consolidated High School, College Station, TX) – Current location: UT Austin
  • Crystal Pang (2016 Welch Scholar from Lamar High School, Arlington, TX)
  • Brandon Nichols (2016 NIH Bridges to the Baccalaureate program, South Plains Community College)
  • Garrett Garzonie (2017 Welch Scholar from McAllen High School, McAllen, TX)
  • Kevin Li (2018 Welch Scholar)


  • Steve Anderson
  • Faustina Boa-Amponsem
  • Cynthia Crawford
  • Pat Fahey (Summer LANDO student from Washington University)
  • Megan Furner (Summer LANDO student from King’s College)
  • Jiaxuan Guo
  • Amber Johnson – Last known location: UC Riverside, Hooley group, Ph.D. 2014
  • Hanna Key (Summer LANDO student from Grinnell College) – Ph.D. 2016: UC Berkeley, Hartwig group; Postdoc: Yale University, Miller group; Current location: Grinnell College, Chemistry Department
  • Bryan Murray
  • Sean Lund – Ph.D. 2016(?): NC State, Williams group; Current location: Amyris, San Francisco, CA
  • Alister Olson – Last known location: Iowa State, Ecology, M.S. 2013
  • Andrew Ross (Summer LANDO student from Earlham College)
  • Nick Simes
  • Lylien Tan
  • Andrew Torres
  • Bennett Thompson (Summer LANDO student from Ohio Wesleyan University) – Current location: Yale, Hazari group
  • Will Wolf – Ph.D. 2016: UC Berkeley, Toste group; Current location: Postdoc: Caltech, Grubbs group
  • Eve Yang